Elections and Government Services Administrative Rules of Montana Business Services Notary and Certification Records and Information Management

June 3, 2013
CONTACT: Katrina Schweitzer, (406) 444-2807

DEADLINES PASSED FOR LAWMAKERS TO VOTE TO OVERRIDE FIRST 5 GOVERNOR’S VETOES

(Helena) – Secretary of State Linda McCulloch today announced five of the twenty-four veto poll deadlines have passed for the 63rd Legislature in order to vote to override the Governor’s vetoes.  The remaining nineteen bills on the veto poll have a deadline of June 10th.  Anyone interested in seeing how a lawmaker voted in the poll can logon to the Secretary of State’s website at sos.mt.gov/Elections.

“’I’m happy to provide Montanan’s with results of the override polls.  It’s important that folks interested in the process are given the opportunity to see how votes were cast,” says McCulloch. 

Forty five members of the Senate returned a voted ballot on at least one of the veto polls, and eighty six members of the House returned a voted ballot on at least one of the polls.  Neither chamber had the required number of votes to override the vetoed bills listed below.

The following bills will remain vetoed:

Bill No.

Short Title

House
For

House
Against

Senate
For

Senate
Against

HB15

Appropriate Money for Financial Assistance to Public Schools

49

36

20

21

SB236

Temporarily Increasing the Coal Severance Tax Allocation

51

35

28

17

SB250

Creating Requirements for the Good Neighbor Policy

56

30

30

15

SB302

Revise & Clarify Process on Proposed Accreditation Standards

53

31

28

16

SB344

Provide Public Scoping Process for Certain Land Acquisitions

56

28

31

14

 

Total Costs to conduct the Veto Polls for 2013 was $ 5,544.63.

Montana law requires that the Secretary of State poll the Legislature within 5 days following a Governor’s veto of certain bills, when the veto occurs after the session has adjourned.  Participation in the poll is voluntary, but it is the only chance state lawmakers have to vote either for or against overriding each veto following a legislative session. Responses must be received within 30 days of the mailing date.  In order to override a Governor’s veto, 2/3rds of the members of each house must vote for an override.  
   
* Vetoed bills are only subject to an override poll if they passed out of the legislature by two-thirds majority or more of those voting on the bill.