One of the most exciting changes in the new notary law is the implementation of training for new notary applicants. Providing new notaries with the information and tools they need to understand their duties and responsibilities will reinforce their confidence and their professionalism in providing this vital public service. It will also go a long way towards minimizing the liability on the notary and the notary’s employer. There are several options for required training available to prospective notaries.
Before submitting an application for a new notary commission be sure you meet the following qualifications:
- Are at least 18 years of age;
- Have resided in the state of Montana for at least 30 days prior to applying;
- Have never been convicted of a felony;
- Have never had a notary commission denied, revoked, or restricted in any state;
- Have satisfactorily completed certified training course.
If you meet the qualifications, your next step is to obtain a Notary Surety Bond in the amount of $10,000. These are available from most Montana insurance agents, as well as through various online providers. The cost for notary bonds varies, but usually is about $50 - $70 for the four-year term of the commission.
You also need to complete the Application, Statement, and Oath of Office for Appointment as a Notary Public.
To ensure that your request is successfully processed, please carefully check the following. These are the top 5 reasons applications are rejected and returned:
- That your name is exactly the same on the application and the bond.
- That your signatures match the name on the bond and application.
- That you have signed the bond as the “Principal”.
- That the city and county listed on the bond are the location of your personal residence.
- That the effective date of the bond is within 30 days (before or after) the date that your submission will be received in our office.
Submitting documents that are incorrect or incomplete will delay your request.
The application form, the bond, and the $25 filing fee must be sent to:
Secretary of State
PO Box 202801
Helena, MT 59620-2801
Processing your application usually takes three – four days and you will receive a Certificate of Commission and a copy of the Montana Notary Public Handbook within ten days to two weeks.
The Secretary of State’s Office does not provide your seal. Please refer to Page 2 of the Montana Notary Public Handbook for information about the requirements and options for your official seal.
If you have questions, contact us at firstname.lastname@example.org or (406) 444-5379.